top of page
  • Writer's pictureAnna L. Calvin

Pumpkin Sugar Cookies


FALL IS HERE!! Yesterday in Ohio we FINALLY got the weather to prove it. To celebrate, I decided to make pumpkin sugar cookies.

I like these cookies because the actual cookie is not overly sweet like some cookies tend to be but the icing on top adds just the perfect amount of sweetness. These also aren't overly pumpkin-y (is that a word?) so they are perfect if you like pumpkin spice but aren't the biggest PSL fan... or if you are, this recipe is still good and worth the baking efforts.


You start by preheating your oven to 350 degrees. Next you mix your wet ingredients in a stand mixer if you have one (one of my FAVORITE wedding gifts Seth and I received) or in a large bowl with a hand mixer or whisk.



(My first can of pumpkin for the season, most definitely not my last)


Once you have your wet ingredients mixed, slowly mix in your dry ingredients. Make sure everything gets incorporated and be sure to scrap the sides of your bowl to get everything in there.




(My kitchen helper)


Once everything is combined, your dough will look like this!


Use a cookie scoop to evenly transfer your dough to a baking sheet covered in parchment paper. I put 6 cookies on 1 baking sheet because I wasn't sure how much they would spread. Once your cookies are on your baking sheet, use the bottom of a glass to flatten them. **TIP: Dip your glass in granulated sugar so your glass does not stick to your cookie, otherwise it will. I flattened mine to half an inch or so.



Once your cookies are flat, put them in the oven for 8-9 minutes. Mine baked closer to 9 minutes until they were done.


While the cookies bake, you get to make the icing/ glaze that goes on top. You just mix powdered sugar, water, and pumpkin pie spice together and wait for your cookies to come out of the oven.




When the 9 minutes is up, take your cookies out of the oven and allow them to cool on the baking sheet for 3 minutes. After 3 minutes, transfer to foil or a cooling rack (with something under it because things WILL get messy). Once on the foil or cooling rack, drizzle, scoop, or pile on the glaze you made. I used a teaspoon of glaze per cookie and I ended up with the perfect amount of glaze.




Let your cookies cool completely and let the glaze harden before eating OR dig in to a warm cookie and get glaze all over, up to you. (I found these hard to resist so I had a warm one)


This was the first time I've made this recipe but it most certainly WILL NOT be the last time I make them.

If you're interested in trying these out for your next party or cozy weekend at home, you can find the full recipe HERE.

Let me know if you're a PSL person or not in the comments! Happy Fall!!


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page