top of page
  • Writer's pictureAnna L. Calvin

Healthy PF Chang's Chicken Lettuce Wraps


Have you ever been to PF Chang's? It's one of my favorite restaurants but unfortunately the closest restaurant is 45 minutes from our house. I've seen recipes on Pinterest that have WAY too many ingredients in them and turned me off from trying them. I recently found a recipe on Pinterest that looked pretty easy with fewer ingredients and decided to try it! I had a lot of the ingredients on had since I love making Chinese food but the ingredients also last a while so if you try this recipes, you won't have to buy all of the ingredients time after time. I noticed that it did not have some of my favorite parts about lettuce wraps so I decided to add them in (chili garlic sauce and Chinese mustard). These wraps aren't expensive to make and the recipe makes enough so I can take them for lunch almost every day. (This is one of the few recipes that I can eat 4 days in a row). What's great about these is you can customize them so if you don't like mushrooms, you don't have to add them in. You honestly can't taste them but I know it's a texture thing for some people. If you like things more spicy, add more chili garlic sauce! Totally up to you.


Here's how you make these awesome wraps.


What you need:



1 tbsp of Oil (could use olive or sesame)

1 pound of ground chicken

1/2 yellow onion

1 cup of baby bella mushrooms

1 tbsp of garlic

1 cup of shredded carrots (could use less if desired)

1/4 cup of soy sauce (I use low sodium)

2 tsp of sesame oil

1 tsp of rice wine vinegar

2 tsp of grated ginger (the frozen aisle has cubes you could use or you could get the squeeze tube like I use instead of buying ginger for this one dish)

1 tsp of chili garlic sauce

1 tsp of Chinese mustard

1 tbsp of of brown sugar

green onion


Start by putting 1 tbsp of oil (I used olive oil to start with) in a pan and warm it up. Once warm, add the pound of ground chicken. While the chicken is browning, slice half of the onion.

When the chicken has cooked all the way through, add in the onion and carrots to the pan. I like carrots in my lettuce wraps so I put a lot in. You can put less in but they help add color to the wraps and a bit of sweetness as well. While the chicken, onion, and carrots are cooking, dice the mushrooms.

After about 5 minutes, add in the mushrooms to the pan. Next, add in the garlic. Stir everything together and allow to cook for a few minutes. Slice the water chestnuts while waiting.

Add in the water chestnuts and ginger to the pan.


Once all of the main ingredients are in the pan, allow it to cook for about 5 minutes. Mix the ingredients for your sauce together and slice some green onions.

Pour the sauce over the mixture in the hot pan and add in some green onions. I let everything continue to cook together for about 8-10 minutes just so all of the flavors are combined.

Once everything is cooked, serve with bib or romaine lettuce or package up for the week like I do.


Since lettuce wraps tend to be a little messy and inconvenient for work, I put mine over lettuce and eat it like a salad. I divide mine into 4 different containers, heat each container up for 1 minute and 30 seconds to 2 minutes at work, and then add it to lettuce! It's great because I don't have to add dressing since these wraps keep moisture well and hold all of the yummy sauce.



These are perfect for meal prep and take less than 30 minutes to make!


Let me know if you try these yummy wraps! Here is the original recipe but I have made a few modifications to it.

19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page