top of page
  • Writer's pictureAnna L. Calvin

DIY Buffalo Check Fall Welcome Sign


If you are a person like me and are OBSESSED with all things buffalo check, you'll have to try this DIY out.

I was on Pinterest like I normally am and I found this pin that I became obsessed with:


It's a black and white buffalo check pumpkin sign to hang on your front door where you would normally hang a wreath. I have been loving the idea of these signs for your front door to switch up my normal wreath routine. When I found this pin, I thought of the rustic welcome pumpkin sign I bought last year at Hobby Lobby. Instead of buying a new sign to try this on, I decided to try it on my old welcome sign. So here is what my sign looked like before:


I had to look up how to paint buffalo check on Pinterest in order to do this DIY. The first step was to paint your surface all one color, typically for buffalo check this would be white. I used white chalk paint as my base because it's what I had on hand and I like how thick this paint is. It went on smoothly and left me with one even surface. Here is the paint I used, I got it from JoAnn Fabrics.


The paint I used for my grey and black layers was patio outdoor paint since I knew I would put this on our front door which has a screen door instead of a glass door.


After I had my whole surface and the edges painted white, I put down masking tape to make even horizontal lines. I painted my first coat with a light grey and after looking at it, I thought it was too light so I mixed in a little black to darken it.



After the paint completely dried, I removed my tape and made vertical lines with my masking tape and painted all of that.


Once that was dry, I removed the masking tape and was left with a white and grey striped pumpkin. The next step was to darken the squares where the two grey lines met. I painted these squares black and painted them by hand.


After all of the squares were painted, I had some touch up to do on my white paint since I didn't use very good masking tape (oops).


I finished my touch up paint and decided to Cricut a new saying for my sign. Instead of putting "Welcome" back on my sign, I put "Hello Fall". I painted the metal leaf that came with the original sign rose gold since that went with the accent colors I had picked out for my sign. I bought black and white buffalo check ribbon and made a bow with some burlap ribbon I had. I hot glued that to my sign first by them stem of my pumpkin. After that cooled, I hot glued the raffia that came with the original sign on top of the bow I had just created. I added some fall leaves and accents to the opposite side of where I placed the bow and glued those down on the back so my hot glue wasn't visable. To finish, I placed the rose gold leaf on top of my fall accents.


And this was my finished result! Not exactly like my original pin but it came out perfectly for my home!! I can't wait to try some other buffalo check DIY's since we have navy and white buffalo check for our fall decor and red and black buffalo check for our winter decor.


I can't wait for next weekend when we paint our front door (DIY coming soon)!!


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page