top of page
  • Writer's pictureAnna L. Calvin

DIY Car Seat Cleaner


Do you have car seats that are dirty, spotty, or just over all messy? I have a little DIY that may help with your problem!!

For me, being a dog mom is one of the best things in life. Riley is my girl and I take her everywhere I can! She loves car rides but my car does not love her. After she takes a ride in my car there is hair everywhere, nose prints all over my windows, and sometimes even worse things (yes, sometimes she throws up in my car).


I had some stains in my back seat from Riley and various other things (I have absolutely NO IDEA where these other stains came from so I’m going to blame it on life). I decided to try a DIY to get them out and I could not be happier with the results.

I saw on Pinterest (my weakness) a DIY car seat and stain remover and I decided to give it a go. I saw that you only needed 5 items so I thought it was worth a shot! I headed over to dollar tree for the supplies but most of you probably already have these things in your home. The whole DIY cost me $4.83.

All you need is:

1. Scrub Brush

2. Hydrogen Peroxide

3. Dawn Dish Soap

4. Baking Soda

5. Spray bottle (I bought mine at the Dollar Tree and it did not work so I did without!)


I did 1 part dish soap, 1 part baking soda, and 2 parts hydrogen peroxide. I shook it in the bottle and attempted to spray it on my seats but when I discovered that didn't work, I got an old rag and blotted the mixture onto my seats. Once it was on, I scrubbed the seats where the stains were then let it dry. I had a few stains left so I grabbed the Dirt Devil Stain Remover that I had and rubbed the stains out. I'd say my results were pretty good for under $5!

Here is the before of my car seat, gross I know:


And the after:


What a difference!!! I did this to all of my seats and my covered console that Riley likes to sit on and I feel like I have my new car back! When you're on a budget and want a clean car, I strongly recommend trying this.

Here are some of the other goodies I keep in my car (recommended by my mother).


I bought them at Wal-Mart and they can fit in your glove box or your driver/ passenger doors. When I'm at the car wash or after a ride with Riley, I just pull out a wipe to clean my interior and then I get a wipe to protect it. I also have the glass cleaner wipes which are great for getting those nose prints off my windows!


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page