top of page
  • Writer's pictureAnna L. Calvin

Peanut Butter Cup Cookies


Tonight, I decided to try a new peanut butter cookie recipe. I've tried a few recipes that I've found on Pinterest and they turned out fine but for the time and effort, I found the packaged peanut butter cookie mix you can buy at the store were better. I saw this recipe on Facebook this morning and I knew I had to make cookies tonight for work tomorrow. It's by one of my favorite baking websites: Sally's Baking Addiction. If you haven't heard of this website or tried one of her recipes, I strongly recommend that you stop what you're doing and check out her site. It's full of goodies; I haven't made one thing that was bad from her site!! HERE is the link for the cookies I made tonight and let me tell you, these will be my go-to peanut butter cookie recipe.

Here's what you need - most of these ingredients you probably already have in your house:

  • 1 and 1/4 cups all-purpose flour

  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda

  • 1/4 teaspoon salt

  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter, at to room temperature

  • 1/2 cup packed light brown sugar

  • 1/4 cup granulated sugar

  • 3/4 cup creamy peanut butter - I used Peter Pan Creamy

  • 1 large egg

  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

  • 1/4 cup granulated sugar, in a small bowl for rolling the dough balls

  • Reese's Miniature Peanut Butter Cups, unwrapped


I just want to start by stating these cookies must be refrigerated for an hour at least before baking. You can make the dough ahead of time and let it sit overnight in the fridge if you know you'll be short on time. The first step is to mix you dry ingredients: flour, baking soda, and salt in a bowl and mix until combined.

In a large bowl mix your sugars and softened butter with a hand mixer until combined.




Next, add the peanut butter, egg, and vanilla and mix until light and smooth.



After you wet mixture is combined, add your dry mix and combine. Once everything is together, put some plastic wrap over the dough and put in the fridge for AT LEAST an hour. The dough could easily be stored in the fridge overnight but it needs to be refrigerated for at least an hour so the dough doesn't spread too much when it bakes.



While your dough is chilling, unwrap the Reese's cups.


There will be A LOT of wrappers.


Also, get a small bowl and put in 1/4 cup a granulated sugar.

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.


After your dough has chilled, scoop it out with a cookie scoop and roll into balls.


Roll the dough balls into the granulated sugar.



And place the balls on a cookie sheet with parchment paper. I was able to bake 9 cookies at a time.


Bake the cookies for 10 minutes at 350 degrees. They will be light but should be a little golden brown on the edges.


Let the cookies cool on the baking sheet for 5 minutes. Quickly add the Reese's cups to the cookies and press slightly.

Add the cookies to a plate or a container and put in the freezer for 15 minutes.


After 15 minutes, remove the cookies and enjoy!!




16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page